Applicable plans
  • Free
  • Plus
  • Business
  • Enterprise


Organization users are all of the users that have been added to your organization. They will be activated and thus added to your billed subscription when they log in for the first time. By clicking on a user’s name, you can define their organization-wide role that can override the roles assigned to them by a group, and add them to groups.


Access organization user settings

To access the organization settings from your admin account, click on the profile icon, then on "Your Account". You'll see the name of your organization in the Profile section, with a "Manage" button to the right. Click this to open the organization settings, then click on "Users" in the panel to the left.


Create a user

To create a user, click on "+ Create User" shown at the bottom of the popup. Enter an email address and name, then click "Create". The user will be added to your organization, and a confirmation email will be sent to their email address. Only after they confirm their email and log in to Zenkit will they be marked as 'Activated'.

You can also add users automatically via SCIM (System for Cross-domain Identity Management) provisioning, or creating users whenever someone logs in using SSO (single sign-on). If you have manual provisioning of users set to "off", you will only be able to add them via SCIM or SSO and not manually as described above. To learn more about this, please see our article on provisioning.


If someone that you're trying to add to your organization already has a Zenkit account, you will need to acquire the user, instead of adding them in this manner. If you try to add them manually or via SSO or provisioning, you will get an error message.


Manage user info and organization-wide role

To view more information about a user, click on the users' name. You'll be able to manage their name, username, and initials, as well as view which email address they're added with.


To assign a role to the user, click 'Default' under 'Personal Role'. The roles are defined as follows:

  • Default: The role defined by the group they're a member of.
  • Organization Admin: The user will have administrative rights in the organization (e.g. the ability to create workspaces and manage other members and groups).
  • Organization Member: The user will have basic rights and be able to create workspaces. They do not have the ability to manage other users.
  • Organization Editor: The user will have limited rights in the organization, and will be unable to create workspaces or manage other users.

We generally recommend that you leave users set to 'Default' to better manage group roles.


Add user to a group

To add a user to a group in your organization, you first need to create a group or subgroup. Once you have some groups set up, click on '+ Add user to group' at the bottom of the popup, then select the group or subgroup you'd like to add the user to. You can also add a user to a group via the group settings.


You'll see the list of groups the user is a member of under the 'Groups' section of the user properties.


User status

Depending on the status of a user, they may appear in your workspaces and collections and be billed or not.

Activated: An activated user has clicked on the link in the invitation email they received, logged in to Zenkit, and is successfully registered in the Zenkit database. Activated users will only be billed for each app that they have installed and in which they have access to at least one resource of the organization.

Provisioned: A provisioned user has been added via SCIM set up with your identity provider (IdP, e.g. Azure AD). Provisioned users still need to activate their accounts by logging in at least once.


Removing a user

To remove a user, click their name to open their user properties, then click 'Delete User' at the bottom of the pop-up. If the user has been added via provisioning, then they will be removed from your organization, however if you re-sync the provisioning from your IdP, the user may be added again as a new user, and will not have access to any workspace or collection unless a group they're synced to has access to a workspace or collection.

If you have set up provisioning via SCIM, you can also remove a user by removing them from the list in your IdP. This will delete the user from your organization and the Zenkit database.