Applicable plans
  • Free
  • Plus
  • Business
  • Enterprise



Groups and subgroups allow you to manage the access rights of multiple users at once.


Accessing group settings

To access the organization settings from your admin account, click on the profile icon, then on "Your Account". You'll see the name of your organization in the Profile section, with a "Manage" button to the right. Click this to open the organization settings, then click on "Groups" in the left hand panel to access group settings.


Create a new group

To create a new group, click ‘+ Create Group’ and type in the group name.

Once the group has been created, it'll appear on your list of groups. Click on a group name to add a description, manage users, or add a subgroup.

Create a subgroup

You can add subgroups to existing groups by clicking on 'Add Subgroup' at the bottom of the group properties. You can pick from groups that already exist in your organization, or create a new group.


Add users

You can add users to a group by clicking on 'Add User' at the bottom of the group properties. You can pick from a list of users that already exist in the organization, or add a new one (if allowed by your Provisioning settings).


Alternatively, you can add a user to a group via their user properties.


Change group role

A group role defines the permissions that users within the group have. There are 3 role types:

  • Organization Admin: The user will have administrative rights in the organization (e.g. the ability to create workspaces and manage other members and groups).
  • Organization Member: The user will have basic rights and be able to create workspaces. They do not have the ability to manage other users.
  • Organization Editor: The user will have limited rights in the organization, and will be unable to create workspaces or manage other users.

If a user has a separate, organization-wide role (as defined in their user properties), then this role will always override the group role.

For example, if Andre has an 'Organization Editor' role in his user properties, but 'Organization Member' role inside the 'Developers' group, he will only have editor rights within the organization.


If Sara has the 'Organization Admin' role assigned to her in her user properties, then she will be an admin, regardless of the role assigned by any group she has been added to.


If Philipp has no role assigned to him in his user properties (i.e. has the 'Default' role), but is a member of multiple groups, he will have the role with the most permissions assigned to him.


Group and organization roles have no effect on resource-related roles.


Delete a group

To delete a group, open the group properties and click 'Delete Group' at the bottom of the popup. Click 'Delete' again in the confirmation window. This action is permanent and cannot be undone.