Applicable plans
  • Free
  • Plus
  • Business
  • Enterprise

Zenkit users can be given specific roles which give them certain permissions within workspaces and collections. Currently there are five user roles - Owners, Members, Editors, Commenters, and Guests.

Roles and permissions can also be split between workspaces and collections. For example, someone who is a "Member" of a collection, can also be only an 'Editor' of the workspace that contains the collection. This means they have full permissions inside the collection, but limited permission in the workspace itself.

Currently each of these user types still needs to register for a Zenkit account, even guests and commenters. However, if you just want to share a collection without anyone needing to register, you can publish it


User roles and permissions

Owner
A workspace owner or collection owner is the user who created the workspace or collection. This user has full permissions within the workspace or collection, including being able to delete it, and move collections to other workspaces.
Full collection permissions include creating new collections within a workspace, creating, deleting, or editing fields, and changing the background of collections. Owners can also add and remove users to a workspace or collection, and re-assign user roles. There can only be one collection owner.

Member
A member has full permissions within a workspace or collection and can also re-assign user roles that are lower than "Owner". A member cannot delete a collection or workspace, nor can they move collections to another workspace.

Editor
Editors can create and archive items, and add information to items e.g. by adding labels, text, dates, or numbers, but they can't add, remove, or make changes to fields. Editors are also unable to change how a certain view appears, and cannot create or edit saved filters and views. Editors may not add or remove members, change member roles, or change collection backgrounds.

Commenter
Commenters can view a collection, use filters, and comment on items within it, but have no other permissions.

Guest
Guests can view a collection, use filters, and open items, but not interact with it in any way.

If a user in a collection has a certain role assigned to them in the workspace, you can also select 'None' as a role. This will automatically give that user the same permission in the collection as they have in the workspace. 


Changing user roles

To change the role of a user, you need to be an Owner or Member of the workspace or collection. To change workspace roles, click on the workspace name on the home page, then on "Members". To change them in a collection, click on the collection name, then "Members", or click on the member icon in the top left corner of the collection.


Once the list of members is visible, click on the name of the user you'd like to assign a role to. A dialog will pop up where you can select one of the available roles from the menu.
  

Changing collection privacy

You can choose whether to make the collection available to all workspace members or not by toggling workspace access on and off. If "Workspace Access" is on, every member of your workspace will be able to view and edit the collection. If you toggle it off, only collection members will be able to see and work on the collection (workspace members will not be able to see the collection at all).

To change collection privacy, click on the member icon in the top right hand corner of the collection or go to the "Members" section of the collection settings, then turn the "Workspace Access" toggle off. This will make the collection available only to collection members.
To reverse this and make the collection available to all workspace members again, click the toggle to the 'on' position. Only the collection owner will be able to manage collection privacy in this way.


Changing the workspace or collection owner

Only the current owner of a collection or workspace can transfer ownership of it.


To transfer ownership of a collection, click on the collection name, then on "Members". To transfer a workspace, click on the workspace name on the home page to open the "Members" section. Click on "Transfer Ownership" then choose another workspace or collection member to make the owner. 

Group roles vs. User roles

If you have a Business plan, you may have access to your organization's admin panel. This allows you to create and add user groups. You can set permissions for an entire group, however group permissions do not impact user permissions. User permissions override group permissions on a collection or workspace level.