Create a new notebook

To create a new notebook, simply click the "+ New Notebook" button at the top of your homepage. You'll be asked to enter the notebook name, and you can add new members directly from here, too.



Both of these things can be changed later on in the notebook settings. 


Accessing notebook settings

You can change various settings in your notebook to make it suit the way you want to work. To open these settings, click on the notebook cover in the left hand panel while its open, or if using Hypernotes mobile, tap on the name of the notebook at the top, then choose "Settings".


Changing the look of your notebook

The settings allow you to make cosmetic changes, such as changing the title, author and description, or adding cover colors and art.


The author name is the name of the person who created the notebook by default, however you can change it by clicking or tapping within the "Author" field. Tap in the "Subtitle" and "Description" fields to change these. The author, subtitle, and description will be displayed on the homepage.


The next section allows you to change the icon used on the cover of the notebook, upload an image to use as the notebook cover, and change the colors in the main and title sections of the book. Only users with Plus subscriptions or higher will have the ability to choose a custom icon.



Making your notebook public

You can publish your notebook by toggling the "Public" setting to the "on" position (the toggle shows green). Public notebooks will be indexed by search engines like Google, and are viewable by anyone who has the link.



You also have the option to publish tasks, meaning that any tasks added to a note or to a notebook can be viewed by other people, however they won't have the ability to modify anything about the tasks, including marking them as done. 


Exporting and printing your notes

There are currently two different ways to get your notes out of Hypernotes:

Exporting to JSON will format your notes into an open standard file format that's easy to import into other apps (that have a Zenkit Hypernotes JSON import option). 

When you click to open the JSON export, you have the option to include comments and/or archived items (notes and tasks). Once you've made your choice, click on "Generate" to download the JSON file or copy it to your clipboard so you can paste it easily into another app.


Printing your notes will format them into a PDF with the notes included in the order they were created. There are several options for what should be included in the final document:

Most are fairly self-explanatory: Show cover page will include the cover as the first page, table of contents will appear afterwards if selected, and show diary pages will include any pages generated in the "Daily" section in the order they were created, dispersed between the notes.


Link to notebook and pages will link any references within the document so that you can easily navigate to different pages, just as you would within Hypernotes itself. Include inline tasks will show the tasks, with a link to open the relevant task section in Hypernotes.


For the layout, you can again choose between three options: Plain (blocks all appear as bullet points on the same level), enumerated (each note & block gets a number), or hierarchical (blocks are nested).



If you choose enumerated, you'll have an option to choose how many levels of the pages and blocks within them are numbered. E.g. Page 1 gets #1, then block 1 within it becomes #1.1., blocks under that are 1.1.1., 1.1.2., 1.1.3. etc.


Once you're satisfied, click "Generate" to create the PDF. If you've already clicked generate and have changed some of the settings, don't forget to click it again before clicking "Print". 


Notebook add-ons

There are various add-ons to your notebook that offer a wide range of additional functions that aren't pure note-taking but can be incredibly useful. These can be enabled or disabled using the toggles on the right.



The Diary option creates a section in the notebook panel called "Daily". Clicking this will take you to a note with today's date as the title. Learn more about Daily.


Enabling the tasks option allows you to create notebook tasks and page-specific tasks. Learn more about Tasks.


The graph can be hugely beneficial by giving you a graphical representation of your knowledge. Learn more about the knowledge graph.


Numbering refers to whether or not the pages in your notebook are numbered. The numbers are generated automatically and appear at the front of the note title.


Duplicating a notebook

To duplicate a notebook, simply click "Duplicate notebook". The duplicate will appear under the original notebook, with "(copy)" appended to the notebook title. The notebook colors will be different, but everything else, including the tasks, will be included in the duplicate.


Accessing the notebook archive

The notebook archive shows all pages and tasks that have been archived. 



Notes archive

If you choose the Notes option, you'll see a list of all archived notes listed in red. Please note that archived blocks also appear in this notes archive.



Clicking on a note will open a dialog showing various details about the note, such as tasks added to it, if it has any referenced notes, whether it was a diary page, etc. You can select multiple notes by holding down the Alt key while you click through them.


You can use the filter in the top right hand corner to search for a note by it's name, or by certain criteria such as it's diary date or date of creation.


To restore the note you found, notes you've selected, or all notes, click the "Restore X Notes" button at the bottom of the page. The restored note or block will appear again in it's original position in your notebook.


To delete archived notes, choose "Delete X Notes" instead. Deletion needs to be confirmed and is a permanent action. Once notes are deleted from the archive they are gone forever and cannot be restored.


Tasks archive

The tasks archive works in much the same way as the notes archive, except that the task details and filter conditions are different and reflect the task details you'll find on any task in Hypernotes. The same filter, restore, and delete functions are available and have the same conditions (e.g. deletion is permanent).


Deleting a notebook

This option is only available to the owner of the notebook. Click delete notebook, then click "Delete" again when asked to confirm.

Please note that deletion is a permanent action and cannot be undone. Once you've deleted a notebook, all associated pages, blocks, tasks, etc. are also permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Please also note that if your notebook is the resource owner and connected to another product via the Zenkit Suite, the related information will also be deleted in that product. Learn more about the Zenkit Suite here.