Zenkit users can be given specific roles which give them certain permissions within folders and projects. Currently, there are five user roles - Owners, Members, Editors, Commenters, and Guests.

Roles and permissions can also be split between workspaces and collections. For example, someone who is a "Member" of a project, can also be only an 'Editor' of the folder that contains the project. This means they have full permissions inside the project, but limited permission in the folder itself.

Currently, each of these user types still needs to register for a Zenkit account, even guests and commenters. However, if you just want to share a collection without anyone needing to register, you can publish it


User roles and permissions

Owner
A folder owner or project owner is the user who created the folder or project. This user has full permissions within the folder or project, including being able to delete it and move projects to other folders.
Full folder permissions include creating a new project within a folder, creating, deleting, or editing fields, and changing the background of projects. Owners can also add and remove users to a folder or project, and re-assign user roles. There can only be one project owner.

Member
A member has full permissions within a folder or project and can also re-assign user roles that are lower than "Owner". A member cannot delete a project or folder, nor can they move projects to another folder.

Editor
Editors can create and archive tasks, and add information to tasks e.g. by adding labels, text, dates, or numbers, but they can't add, remove, or make changes to fields. Editors are also unable to change how a certain view appears, and cannot create or edit saved filters and views. Editors may not add or remove members, change member roles, or change collection backgrounds.

Commenter
Commenters can view a project, use filters, and comment on tasks within it, but have no other permissions.

Guest
Guests can view a project, use filters, and open tasks, but not interact with it in any way.

If a user in a project has a certain role assigned to them in the folder, you can also select 'None' as a role. This will automatically give that user the same permission in the project as they have in the folder. 


Changing user roles

To change the role of a user, you need to be an Owner or Member of the folder or project. To change folder roles, click on the folder name on the home page, then on "Members". To change them in a project, click on the collection name, then "Members", or click on the member icon in the top left corner of the project.


Once the list of members is visible, click on the name of the user you'd like to assign a role to. A dialog will pop up where you can select one of the available roles from the menu.


 

Changing project privacy

You can choose whether to make the project available to all folders members or not by toggling folder access on and off. If "Folder Access" is on, every member of your folder will be able to view and edit the project. If you toggle it off, only project members will be able to see and work on the project (folder members will not be able to see the project at all).

To change project privacy, click on the member icon in the top right-hand corner of the project or go to the "Members" section of the project settings, then turn the "Folder Access" toggle off. This will make the project available only to project members.



To reverse this and make the project available to all folder members again, click the toggle to the 'on' position. Only the project owner will be able to manage project privacy in this way.


Changing the folder or collection owner

Only the current owner of a project or folder can transfer ownership of it.


To transfer ownership of a project, click on the project name, then on "Members". To transfer a folder, click on the folder name on the home page to open the "Access" section. Click on "Transfer Ownership" then choose another folder or project member to make the owner.


 

Group roles vs. User roles

If you have a Business plan, you may have access to your organization's admin panel. This allows you to create and add user groups. You can set permissions for an entire group. However, group permissions do not impact user permissions. User permissions override group permissions on a project or folder level.